Over 5000 Batswana run in DGM

18th May 2018
BIG CARROT…DGM runners fail to clinch P1 million prize money Source:The Midweek Sun

Kfir Teichman the Managing Director (MD) of Gaborone Diacore Botswana (DGM) says they are likely to increase the 42km race first prize money going into the future. Teichman was speaking in an interview following the conclusion of the 2018 DGM. This year’s world-famous marathon event offered a whooping P 1 Million prize money to a runner who could finish the race in 2:08:00. Nevertheless, none of the professional 42km runners managed to scoop the seven-figure prize money. “We had hoped to attract some top runners to the 2018 DGM, however they did not show up and nobody managed to win the challenge. We might be forced to increase the money or look at other factors that made it hard for the runners to win the main prize,” he said. The seven figured prize money he said will remain in their coffers and they will come up with other better ideas for the 2019 event. We need to seat down, think and decide on the way forward, maybe the time was too much for the runners.

According to the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) records, the World Record for men is 2:02:57, set by Dennis Kimetto of Kenya on September 28, 2014, at the Berlin Marathon. Teichman said he is confident that the DGM has the potential to break the world record given the level of competitiveness showed by the runners. Since they became the title sponsor of the event back in 2012, Teichman said the event has grown through leaps and bounds. In his opinion, the 2018 event was one of the biggest having attracted 33 countries including USA, Finland and England. However, what impressed him the most is that over 5 000 Batswana registered for the event. Quizzed on the event budget, the DGM boss said they need close to P 3 million to host the event. Teichman said they donate to charity revenue raised through registration to charity. “We normally give away P 1 million to charity annually,” he said. Meanwhile, Sibusiso Nzima of South Africa won the 42km run clocking an impressive 02:16:56 while Olivia Chitate of Zimbabwe emerged the women champion. Sylvester Koko won the 10km men race.

Latest News

Newsletter Subscription

      Subscribe Now      

Website designed & developed by DigitalHorn © 2016